Holidays and Hopefulness

We are brimming with presents (literally) and hope (figuratively) as we settle back into the woods after the holiday travels.

We got to spend four days with Tim’s side and four with mine, all of which resulted in thoughtful, practical gifts and lots of quality time for the kiddos with their relatives.  I’m amazed at the thought that goes into the things we receive and it reminds me how lucky we are to have the huge families we have.  Tim and I survived 8 days away with one spat about ten minutes before we headed home.  The holidays tend to exacerbate all those lovely family dynamics.  We all have ’em, right?

While we were away, our house in Lafayette closed, the money cleared our account (thank god), and we officially bought the house in downtown Bloomington.  Ahhh!  Simultaneously, Silas learned how to climb out of bed on the first night (yay) resulting in drama at nap and bedtimes for the entire trip, Maren got a front tooth on Christmas day after lots of fussiness and poor sleep, and the lot of us ended up with disgusting colds without our NoseFrida and general remedies.  Call me selfish, but it’s so much easier to stay home.  BUT I’m so glad we didn’t.  We typically go for one night when we visit our hometowns, so having four days felt relaxing and made room for some good visiting, and I love the holidays.

I had a weird time this year with the holidays.  It was sort of emotional for me, which is unlike me.  I think it was a combination of waiting to decorate until after we moved (which was less than a week before we left for Christmas traveling), the stress of being in limbo for a whole month with our closing, the pressure of finding our next home knowing it’s forever, and having our first year of Christmas at my parents’ new house.  I feared it would feel wonky or lacking.  All worry was for naught–it felt just like home and we had so much fun.

We’re wrapping up 2014 and it was quite a year.  I will do a year in review shortly and we are working on getting our brains focused on 2015 goals and hopes.  We will yet again be revamping a house and we will NOT be having another baby.  Today, Rog and Mary Kay are here, so we’re taking advantage and cleaning our house, packing up a few things (oh my god didn’t I just do this?), and getting all giddy about the possibilities of our new house.  Our closing is set for January 30.  We’re not rushing it, because being in the wintry woods with Karma and Elizabeth feels like its own present of sorts.

What sorts of things do you do for the new year? How do you reflect on the past year and make goals for the next?  Any traditions?  We’re all over the place these days.  I need a little focus.  Recommendations welcome.

Leave a Reply

