February: Challenge Yourself

We are wrapping up the last week in January with a bang.  Silas had a little belly bug at the end of last week, and this kid is no stranger to food allergies or bellyaches, so I didn’t think much of it.  Fast forward to Saturday night with Sara, Derek and Dylan here to visit and Mama has the flu.  Fast forward to Sunday night, Tim and Sara have the flu.   We’re just sharing the love…  So this week we will be recovering our bodies (and our messy house) and getting geared up to start a new month.

February is going to be really exciting!  You know why?  Not because of Valentine’s Day (although I LOVE sending Oliver a valentine every year and I LOVE having a reason to be extra gushy and lovey about Silas) but because I am doing two challenges for the whole month.  Ready?

Challenge #1:

be you: Photo

I am doing prenatal yoga a few times a week, but my muscles are feeling a bit soft these days along with the rest of my body.  Enter the 30 Day Squat Challenge, midwife approved.  Yes, you will find me groaning my way through thirty days of lower body work.  I can’t wait!  It’s the part of me that needs the most fitness attention and coincidentally one of the areas that I can work on during pregnancy.  Win win!  Note that there aren’t 30 days in February, so my cohort/Mom and I are starting on January 30th.  Want to join?

 

Challenge #2:

This challenge was initiated by Sara, my sister in law, and boy am I excited about it!  Perhaps a little too excited…  Here are the details from a blog I’ve never seen and will never again miss.  Thanks, Feedly!  (If you follow more than one blog or would like to, try Feedly for organizing them all in one place and putting them in a pretty format for browsing.  Love it!  And no, I don’t get paid for saying that.)  Here are the deets:

“A new month is approaching. Let’s play a little game together.

Find a friend or family member. Someone who’s willing to get rid of some of their excess stuff. This month, each of you must get rid of one thing on the first day of the month. On the second, two things. Three items on the third. So forth, and so on. Anything can go! Clothes, furniture, electronics, tools, decorations, etc. Donate, sell, or trash. Whatever you do, each material possession must be out of your house—and out of your life—by midnight each day.

It’s an easy game at first. However, it starts getting challenging by week two, when you’re both jettisoning more than a dozen items each day. Whoever can keep it going the longest wins. You both win if you can make it all month. Bonus points if you play with more than two people.

Win or lose, we’d love to hear about your game on Twitter or Facebook. #MinsGame

Ready? Go!”

Ok, I can’t even wait.  I have spent the last week making lists in my head (type A, anybody?) about all the things I can’t wait to get rid of.  I consider myself somewhat of a get rid of professional…  We fill the back of a station wagon about once a quarter and donate it to one place or another.  So the fact that I can think of so many things to purge really does indicate that we have way, way, way too much stuff in this house despite my best efforts.  Game on!  And really, doesn’t everyone win?  Methinks yes.

Instead of counting each day, I totaled the weeks so that I can just do a week at a time with one big number in mind.  I think this will help me since it won’t be something I have to think about every day.  The month starts on a Saturday, so the goal for the first week is a measly one item.  But hold your horses, it gets intense.

Week One: 1   Week Two: 35   Week Three: 84   Week Four: 133  Week Five:  153  Total Items: 406 

I’m going to minimize my butt AND my belongings in the same month.  How ’bout that?

One thought on “February: Challenge Yourself

  1. Pingback: Minimalist Challenge: Complete | Silvano & Co.

Leave a Reply

