January: Get it Together

There are two weeks left in January and we are going to make them count.  We’re getting back in a positive groove after the holidays and snow storm.  So far, so good.  Speaking of positive, we had some really meaningful reactions to the last blog post.  Thanks for following and being there when we need you.  The good vibes gave us renewed energy to figure out how to feel more connected here.

And guess what I did.  (I am really proud of myself.)  I actively went outside my comfort zone this week to build community in ways I never have before.  This includes accepting invitations to gatherings I normally would avoid (play dates with several people I don’t know, game nights, and stroller walks in 45 degree weather).  I am also starting my own “2 under 2” mama group at our house on Tuesdays.  Yes, I am actually going to host a social event.  Are you shocked?  Me, too.  (Imagine me with a puffed out chest and a brave look on my face.)  And I can’t even stoop to liquid courage to get me through it.  I also took my friend, Freda, up on her offer to hook us up with the only granola family she knows.  It makes my palms sweat to think about it, but I know it’s something that we need to do and an opportunity that we desperately need at this point.  These are my efforts to find some cool families here until the weather breaks.

Staying home (which some people see as relaxing/lazy/unproductive/not busy) is actually quite hectic with a one year old sidekick (or any others for that matter).  Add this to a personality type that struggles to resist putting emotional and spiritual needs on the back burner for the sake of the to do list and VOILA!  Here I am.

I decided I really need to work on that, so I ordered a new book and joined a virtual book club for Hands Free Mama:  A Guide to Putting Down the Phone, Burning the To-Do List, and Letting Go of Perfection to Grasp What Really Matters!  which is a book by Rachel Macy Stafford, a Huffington Post parenting blogger.

Hands Free Mama

I am super excited to read it and to engage in some good conversation with virtual strangers.  Get it?  Virtual?  Double entendre.  Boom.  If you’d like to join the book club, check it out: http://creativewithkids.com/not-your-should-mamas-book-group/

I also made a weekly routine to help me structure my days better around the things I really need for any sort of balanced, happy living.  This is what it looks like:

Monday

Prenatal Yoga

Blog/Write

(Tim gone)


Tuesday

@9 Mama group

Wednesday

Prenatal Yoga

@1030 Story Time?

Errands

Thursday

(Tim gone)

Friday

Prenatal Yoga

Date night!

I didn’t include the weekend boxes, but we heard about a few new locavore restuarants this week (Jane’s Gourmet Deli and Serendipity) and are anxious to try them!  We will also be exploring the downtown galleries and shops for leisurely Saturday morning outings in an effort to get to know this city better until the farmers market is open again in May.  All steps in the right direction!  We know nothing about West Lafayette, so we will venture that way as well once we master downtown, which is less than a mile from our house.

Cheers to a fresh start, amazing support systems that are far away, and owning your own happiness.

One thought on “January: Get it Together

Leave a Reply

