Happy Thanksgiving! And Introducing…

Silas Peter Thoreau Ballard born November 20th at 9:57pm
5 pounds, 2 ounces and 19 inches long
Image

Consensus so far is that he looks like Timmy, curly hair and all.  He is a blondie!  Tim had dark hair at birth and mine was red, so we’re attributing the hair color to Uncle Logie.

You know, at less than a week into my maternity leave and almost 2 whole weeks before my due date, I wasn’t all that worried when I awoke to contractions Tuesday morning in the wee hours.  I had some a few weeks back, and I just didn’t feel anything…indicative.  I thought I might feel weird or off kilter or like I might have a sixth sense about impending baby arrival.  There was none of that.  None!  By eight o’clock in the morning, they were 3 minutes apart but still half as short as they “should” have been for me to go to the hospital.  I called my OB and he said he’d check me even though I was a few weeks early, and I think he and I both thought I was having false labor or was in really, really early labor.  Wrong!

I’ll be honest, I didn’t believe it.  Mom got here, and I still didn’t believe it.  She said let’s go to the hospital, and still–total denial that Tuesday was the day I’d become a mommy.

After calling in the army (aka Tim at work a half hour away and my Mom slash doula 2 and a half hours away) I decided to walk our very long lane on such a beautiful day and try to get my contractions to be more consistent.  Once we realized they were not getting closer together (hanging out at almost five minutes apart) but they were getting stronger, Mom convinced me to go to the hospital.  Good thing I didn’t wait for the three-one-one rule, because that happened about fifteen minutes before I pushed.

Image

I went into labor wanting to do unmedicated natural childbirth and I did it.  Almost all of my labor was manageable, I thought.  I strove to get back to feeling relaxed and happy between contractions and was pretty successful with that.  I stayed really focused and I am proud of myself, even though once I got to just before pushing I was pretty sure I was going to snap.  Slash I did snap once or twice–sorry Nurse Colleen. But I did it!

Image

Image

(I realize we look like modern day Adam and Eve here…  I had no clothes, but Tim did.  You just can’t see his pants.  We did immediate skin to skin contact because of the research of skin contact and the increase in development of neurological pathways, as well as a host of other benefits to baby.  Check it out!  Cool stuff.)

Image

We went to the hospital at three.  He was born at 9:57pm and by eleven our families were in there to meet him.  Pretty sweet.  A day before our original due date!  We were moved to postpartum at 12:30am and then we couldn’t sleep, so we stayed up all night just looking at him. He probably could have cooked a few more weeks and gained another pound, but we are home as of late last night and we are happy to have Thanksgiving with both of our parents.  I don’t even have to cook!   Pretty memorable stuff.

Image

We had surprise visits from Kait and Oliver, Log and Vanessa, Papaw and Kathryn, and Aubrey.  Love you all!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 And a few more just because…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sorry for the picture overload!  We are pretty stoked over here…

8 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving! And Introducing…

  1. Ah, so excited! Definitely cried reading this and so glad you shared. Loved all the photos of the family with little Silas, especially the Adam and Eve picture! Congrats to you both and I can’t wait to meet the little guy. XO

  2. So proud of you and happy for you, Mama!!!!! How lovely that you got to take a walk down your lane while laboring. Continue enjoying your babymoon, he is absolutely perfect.
    Sending hugs to your family:)

  3. Meg, I’m just now reading your blog! Congratulations!! He is beautiful and you all look so happy! I would love to meet him soon! Proud of you! Melody

    • Hey, girl! Thanks! He is pretty darling… getting fatter by the minute! Your baby gear is saving our lives 🙂 We will be in Alex the 24-26 if you want to grab coffee at GFR or something

      • I would LOVE to meet him. Unfortunately we will be out of town when you are in Alex. But let me know the next time you are here. Would love to catch up with you and kiss on that sweet little boy.

Leave a Reply

