37 weeks: Maternity Leave and a Baby Shower

I made it to maternity leave!  Woop woop!

Time has passed so quickly in some ways, and it turns out I was looking forward to the end of work so much that I forgot it directly correlated to the end of pregnancy.  Ahh!   In my head, it was like a vacation.  In reality, it’s time to bring another human into our lives.  I have had 45-50 hour weeks for more than a year, and I have to say the last few weeks with a toddler have been more challenging than I thought they’d be.  It is weird to have such a hard time sitting on the floor for tea parties, let alone getting back up with any dignity in tact.  I made it, and I am ready for a little break!  I hope I have at least a week to unwind before he makes his arrival.  Kendra tells me I will rearrange the nursery ten times and then wonder what to do with myself.  I can’t even wait to be that bored.

This weekend we went to Onarga to have a shower with Tim’s side of the family and it was wonderful!  We got so many wonderful things, especially books and gift certificates toward our cloth diaper system, as well as a ton of other darling things.  This kid is set for quite some time and he isn’t even here yet!  We are so grateful to have had two awesome baby showers.  Thank you, families!  We love you very much, and we can’t wait to introduce you to this bambino.  Here are some shots from the shower, thanks to cousin Kaitlin and her photography skills with our new camera which I shoved at her as soon as I saw her.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The food was beautiful AND delicious, the company was sweet and generous, the venue was gorgeous, and the vintage toy motif melted my heart.  Tim even came by halfway through to open presents, which was really fun!  I look SO. PREGNANT.  Probably because I am. Three more weeks!

Thanks so much to my mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and Aunt Meg for putting it all together, and thanks to my Mom for making the drive to be there as well.  It was lovely!

Leave a Reply

