the babe

Today we went to meet Dr. Labban.  He was funny, candid, and open about what he prefers as well as being immediately willing to adapt to things we want for labor and delivery that are not common practice.  We liked him very much.  We also heard the heartbeat today, which was crazy.  I still can’t believe a child is living in my body.  It will really sink in once I see the ultrasound next week.

My belly is not very big, but for a gal who has a genetically flat stomach, I feel like it sticks out a lot.  Compared to other 13 week bellies, mine is small, but I am long waisted and wide hipped, so I think I am absorbing baby GB at this point.  By the evening, Tim is usually making sound effect noises about how much it sticks out, which never fails to make me feel both reassured that it isn’t in my head and also slightly blimpish.  I know, I know, I haven’t seen anything yet.

Tim and I had a long conversation at six this morning about the kind of labor process we want/I want just in case I got in there and totally panicked.  It’s happened before.  I don’t do needles.  But it was fine!  The nurse is great and it’s a one man show, so I know he will be my doc when the time comes.  He is one of very few independent practices in town.  I feel much better knowing that I like my OB and that I won’t be thrown at an on-call sheet of five docs when the time comes.  Talk about panic…

 I have been feeling good for the most part.  I am staying up until at least nine o’clock at night (don’t laugh–this is a huge improvement) and I have had two slightly queasy days in two weeks.  I have definitely been eating more and things have been sounding either really good or really bad.  Asparagus and fresh tomato risotto for lunch, anyone?  Tim’s first question to the nurse was about how much food I haven’t been eating up to this point and she assured us it was fine.  The adage about eating breakfast to curb nausea seems true for my second trimester (thanks, Abbi!) especially if I can get a punch of protein in there, like a Greek yogurt smoothie.  I’ll take it!

2 thoughts on “the babe

  1. i am loving your little bump, so cute! i am glad to hear that your appointment went well and that you like your dr. i think the worst thing is for moms & dads to feel like they are being bullied into a decision by their medical team.

Leave a Reply

