Happenings

Top o’ the morning to ye.  I am up early and thought I’d blog a little, although I really don’t have much to report.  This weekend was a great time.  Timmy went to Michigan to a bachelor party for his friend Brian and I went to hang out with Jack’s Pack for the March of Dimes festivities.  These were perfectly timed because we will not be able to go to Brian’s wedding in L.A. since it is so close to baby arrival time.  The March of Dimes walk was squeezed in between Spring storms and the Jack celebration to follow was awesome!  He is such a happy boy and I have a feeling he is going to give us all a run for our money one of these days.  I got to spend the morning with Oliver and that was fun even though he had a wicked cold that I happened to catch.  We picked up balloons (it was like a bad party trick just getting them into the car in a storm…should have gotten the balloon bag but Oliver loved it!) and then swam at the hotel until it was time for Jack’s party.  Here is a picture of those who walked (thanks to Henry’s facebook page.)

On another note, the house hasn’t really been a priority for the last few weeks.  Tim and I have both been working long days all week and we have been busy on the weekends, both of which make it hard to make progress.  Next up on the to do is paint the kitchen cabinets and buy/paint/hang baseboard and trim.  That is one of the finishing steps that is going to make it feel much different in here, but for some reason we haven’t gotten around to it yet.  I think we were just so happy to have the floors in that we temporarily gave ourselves a vacation from home improvement.  Maybe we will get back to it this weekend in between camping and baking with friends in Brown County (Tim’s camping, I’m baking.)  I am going to make Chewy Granola Bars from the Vegetarian Times.  Kait, my sister, makes these and they are delicious.  Since they are about the only thing that sounds good, I figured I probably should make some.

Chewy Granola Bars

Chewy Granola Bars

Makes 25 squares

These treats will be just as tender and chewy at the end of the vacation as they were at the start (if they last that long).
  • 2 ½ cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt, divided
  • ⅔ cup chopped dried apricots/fruit
  • ½ cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • ½ cup almond butter
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large egg whites

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 9×13-inch baking dish with cooking spray.

2. Combine oats, flour, baking soda and 1/4 tsp. salt in bowl. Stir in apricots, chocolate chips and walnuts.

3. Beat brown sugar, maple syrup, almond butter, oil and egg whites with electric beater until smooth. Stir in oat mixture.

4. Spread mixture in prepared baking dish, and pat down firmly. Sprinkle top with remaining salt. Bake 30 to 35 minutes, or until firm. Cool 20 minutes before slicing into bars. Unmold, and store in airtight container. Vegetarian Times, June 2007

We are at eleven weeks preggers this week.  Nuts.  Time flies even when it isn’t that fun, although I am assured it is going to be much more fun shortly.  I have had a few good days in the last week where I ate 3 (!) times in a day without getting sick.  I have also had a few bad days like yesterday when I had a hard time even though I only ate saltines, but having good days reminds me how nice it is to open the fridge and feel hungry instead of gaggy.  Body wise, my hips are wider and I have a tiny belly, which I really only notice because I have genetically good abs.  I kind of always look like I ate a huge breakfast but without the breakfast.  I was perusing Kendra Gilbertson’s belly pics the other day and I can’t believe the difference between 12 and 16 weeks!  We will take pictures and post them when there is more belly to be excited about.

May is always a hectic month for the Campbell-Garner clan because of birthdays and Mothers’ Day.  We will be in Alexandria for Mothers’ Day since we were in Onarga for Easter, and we will also hit as many birthday people as we can in that weekend.  The last half of the month we will be staying home and letting people come to us, which is a nice change.  We are excited!  A three day weekend without at least five hours in the car??  We won’t know what to do with ourselves.

Tim and I have been talking about post-baby things like traveling and vacations and what shape we want the house to be in by that point.  My work schedule will change after I have baby G.B. and I will cut to part time, which will be very nice in great contrast to my 45-50 hours a week now.  The house needs some major work in the finished basement, so that will have to happen at some point.  My best Notre Dame friend and former roommate, Angela Kelly, is moving to Italy for two years with the Navy and we want to see her, so we are debating whether I will go alone with the babe to Italy or whether we will all three go and meet Ang’a in Ireland next June.  The latter is more popular at this point, and I fear it may be our last real trip for a very long time so we are going to make that happen and thoroughly enjoy it.  Tim has never been to Ireland, and when I went it was dreary and not green yet, so I don’t feel like I have been either.  We are totally excited about going, even with a seven month old! After Ireland, I am pretty sure we will be seeing a lot of the midwest for several years 🙂  We are close enough to lots of great cities, though.  St. Louis and Chicago and the Smoky Mountains and Pittsburgh…  It will be great!

Time to get ready for the day.  Here’s hoping for a smooth rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

